About the Pennsylvania Association of Intermediate Units


The Pennsylvania Association of Intermediate Units (PAIU) is a non-profit organization comprised of the executive directors of Pennsylvania’s 29 intermediate units. PAIU promotes educational and operational collaboration across IU boundaries; leverages partnerships and resources to expand high quality services to students, schools and communities; facilitates communication to school and community leaders on matters of educational practice and public policy; and advocates on behalf of intermediate units with policymakers in state agencies and the General Assembly.
Pennsylvania’s intermediate units are working collaboratively to meet the needs of the state and our schools. Under the auspices of the Pennsylvania Association of Intermediate Units (PAIU), the intermediate unit executive directors are working to ensure not only the strength of individual intermediate units, but to function more as a statewide system of intermediate units, the goal of which is to ensure that students and schools everywhere in Pennsylvania benefit from the capacity and expertise of intermediate units.
In October 2011, the PAIU Board of Directors adopted the following statement about PAIU’s function and purpose:
Equity and Opportunity
 
  • Advocate for equitable delivery of high-quality service to the schools and districts of the state.
  • Create opportunities for partnerships, statewide marketing and entrepreneurism.
  • Create equity of opportunity among the members.
Strong IUs, and Strong Network
 
  • Advocate for strong individual IUs at the same time we develop a strong network statewide.
  • Leverage and focus the resources of the individual IUs for the benefit of the entire network.
  • Enhance the reputation and increase the influence of the state network of IUs.
  • Operate from a common philosophy and apply the set of PAIU Guiding Principles—especially about how the IUs can operate effectively in a market environment.
  • Provide technical assistance and support to member IUs.
Information and Advocacy
 
  • Interpret public policy and issues.
  • Influence public policy development and implementation.
  • Represent the membership to other organizations.
  • Keep the members informed of emerging trends and issues.

PAIU Staff and Officers
Executive Director
Thomas E. Gluck
tgluck@paiu.org
717-732-8464
 
Program Director
Diane M. Powell
dpowell@paiu.org
717-732-8462
 
Executive Assistant
Michele B. Clancy
mclancy@paiu.org
717-732-8463
 
President
Dr. Linda Hippert
Executive Director
Allegheny IU#3
 
President-elect
Dr. Brian Barnhart
Executive Director
Lancaster-Lebanon IU#13
Treasurer
Dr. Jill Hackman
Executive Director
Berks County IU#14
Secretary
Dr. Jason Conway
Executive Director
Westmoreland IU#7

 


Immediate Past President
Dr. Anthony Grieco
Executive Director
Luzerne IU#18



 

2017-2018 Job Alike Leaders
 
Special Education Sherry Zubeck, IU 13 sherry_zubeck@iu13.org
     
     
Curriculum Coordinators    (PAIUCC) Janel Vancas, IU 8 jvancas@iu08.org
  Brian Stamford, IU 3 brian.stamford@aiu3.net
  Dan Richards, IU 14 danric@berksiu.org
     
Human Resources Iain Strachan, IU 24 iains@cciu.org
     
Business Managers Alison Bilohlavek, IU 22 ABilohlavek@bucksiu.org
     
PR/Government Relations Shannan Guthrie, IU13 shannan_guthrie@iu13.org
  Tina Viletto, IU 23 tviletto@mciu.org
     
Instructional Media Services (PAIMS) Jared Mader, IU 12 jpmader@iu12.org
     
Community Based Education Lorene Vollman, IU 3 lorene.vollman@aiu3.net
     
PAIU Non-Public Schools (PAIUNPS - ACT 89 Services) Sue Conrady, IU 1
 
sue.conrady@iu1.org
 
     
Assistant Executive Directors Kim Talipan, IU 21 talipank@cliu.org
     

Intermediate Unit Executive Directors

Charles F. Mahoney, III
Intermediate Unit 1
One Intermediate Unit Drive
Coal Center, PA 15423-9642
Phone: 724-938-3241 Ext. 230
724-938-7249
mahoneyc@iu1.k12.pa.us

Linda M. Baehr
Pittsburgh-Mount Oliver IU 2
1305 Muriel Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone: 412-224-4580 Ext. 208
412-224-4583
lbaehr@pmoiu2.k12.pa.us

Dr. Linda Hippert
Allegheny IU 3
475 East Waterfront Drive
Homestead, PA 15120-1144
Phone: 412-394-5705
412-394-5706
linda.hippert@aiu3.net

Dr. Wayde Killmeyer
Midwestern IU 4
453 Maple Street
Grove City, PA 16127-2399
Phone: 724-458-6700 Ext. 1201
724-458-5083
wayde.killmeyer@miu4.org

Dr. Dean Maynard
Northwest Tri-County IU 5
252 Waterford Street
Edinboro, PA 16412-2315
Phone: 814-734-8401
814-734-4828
dean_maynard@iu5.org

Jeffrey Brown
Riverview IU 6
270 Mayfield Road
Clarion, PA 16214
Phone: 814-297-5101
814-226-4850
jbrown@riu6.org

Dr. Jason A. Conway
Westmoreland IU 7
102 Equity Drive
Greensburg, PA 15601-7190
Phone: 724-836-2460
724-836-1747

Dr. Thomas Butler
Appalachia IU 8
4500 6th Avenue
Altoona Executive Office
Altoona, PA 16602
Phone: 814-940-0223 Ext. 1300
814-949-0984
tbutler@iu08.org

Donald Wismar
Seneca Highlands IU 9
119 Mechanic Street
Smethport, PA 16749
Phone: 814-887-5512
814-887-2157
dwismar@iu9.org

Dr. J. Hugh Dwyer
Central IU 10
345 Link Road
West Decatur, PA 16878-9757
Phone: 814-342-0884 Ext. 3031
814-342-5137
jhdwyer@ciu10.org

Dr. Shawn Kovac
Tuscarora IU 11
2527 US Highway
522 South
McVeytown , PA 17051-9717
Phone: 814-542-2501 Ext. 124
814-542-2569
skovac@tiu11.org

Dr. LeeAnn Zeroth
Lincoln IU 12
PO Box 70
New Oxford, PA 17350-0070
Phone: 717-624-6404
717-624-6518
lzeroth@iu12.org

Dr. Brian Barnhart
Lancaster-Lebanon IU 13
1020 New Holland Ave
Lancaster, PA 17601
Phone: 717-606-1692
717-606-1993
brian_barnhart@iu13.org

Dr. Jill Hackman
Berks County IU 14
1111 Commons Boulevard
PO Box 16050
Reading, PA 19612-6050
Phone: 610-987-8404
610-987-8406
jilhac@berksiu.org

Cindy Mortzfeldt
Capital Area IU 15
55 Miller Street
Enola, PA 17025-1640
717-732-8488
cmortzfe@caiu.org

Dr. Kevin Singer
Central Susquehanna IU 16
90 Lawton Lane
Milton, PA 17847
Phone: 570-523-1155
570-523-1668
ksinger@csiu.org

Dr. Christina Steinbacher-Reed
BlaST IU 17
2400 Reach Road
PO Box 3609
Williamsport, PA 17701
Phone: 570-323-8561 Ext. 1071
570-323-1738
creed@iu17.org

Dr. Tony Grieco
Luzerne IU 18
368 Tioga Avenue
Kingston, PA 18704-0649
Phone: 570-718-4610
570-287-5721
tgrieco@liu18.org

Bob McTiernan
Northeastern Educational IU 19
1200 Line Street
Archbald, PA 18403-1918
Phone: 570-876-9251
570-876-8660
rmctiernan@iu19.org

Dr. Charlene Brennan
Colonial IU 20
6 Danforth Drive
Easton, PA 18045-7899
Phone: 610-515-6403
610-515-6570
cbrennan@ciu20.org

Dr. Elaine E. Eib
Carbon-Lehigh IU 21
4210 Independence Drive
Schnecksville, PA 18078-2580
Phone: 610-769-4111
610-769-1099
eibe@cliu.org

Dr. Mark Hoffman
Bucks County IU 22
705 North Shady Retreat Road
Doylestown, PA 18901-2501
Phone: 215-348-2940
215-489-7874
mhoffman@bucksiu.org

Dr. John J. George
Montgomery County IU 23
2 West Lafayette Street
Norristown, PA 19401
Phone: 610-755-9302
610-539-5973
jgeorge@mciu.org

Dr. Joseph J. O'Brien
Chester County IU 24
455 Boot Road
Downingtown, PA 19335
Phone: 484-237-5010
484-237-5066
joeo@cciu.org

Dr. Maria Edelberg
Delaware County IU 25
200 Yale Avenue
Morton, PA 19070-1918
Phone: 610-938-9000
610-938-9887

Dr. Chris Shaffer
School District of Philadelphia, IU 26
440 North Broad Street - Suite 101
Philadelphia, PA 19130-4015
Phone: 215-400-6583
215-400-4103
cshaffer@philasd.org

Dr. Eric Rosendale
Beaver Valley IU 27
147 Poplar Avenue
Monaca, PA 15061-2585
Phone: 724-774-7800
724-774-4751
egr@bviu.org

James Wagner
ARIN IU 28
2895 W Pike
Indiana, PA 15701-9769
Phone: 724-463-5300
724-463-5315
jwagner@iu28.org

Dr. Gregory S. Koons
Schuylkill IU 29
17 Maple Avenue
PO Box 130
Mar Lin, PA 17951
Phone: 570-544-9131 Ext. 1209
570-544-2169
koong@iu29.org


PAIU Office Address:

55 Miller Street
Enola, PA 17025
717-732-8464